The Indian Herald

The Indian Herald

January 3, 2009

Three Indians figure in Cricket's Hall of Fame

Three Indian cricketers, Bishen Singh Bedi, Sunil Gavaskar and Kapil Dev have been inducted in Cricket's Hall of Fame that lists 55 legendary cricketers of the past. The exercise marks ICC's centenary celebrations.

Spin wizard Bedi, legendary opening batsman SM Gavaskar and all-rounder Kapil Dev's names figure in the list. The ICC launched Centenary Year in Sydney and the promotional campaign 'Catch the Spirit' was announced on the occasion.

The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame includes Imran Khan, Hanif Mohammed and Javed Miandad (Pakistan), Don Bradman, Greg Chappell, Allan Border, Dennis Lillee, Keith Miller, Ian Chappell, Neil Harvey, Rod Marsh, Bill O'Reilly, Keith Miller, Ray Lindwall and Richie Benaud (Australia).

The West Indian cricketers include Garfield Sobers, Vivian Richards, Rohan Kanhai, Lance Gibbs, Malcolm Marshall, Clyde Walcott, Frank Worrell, Everton Weekes, George Headley, Clive Lloyd, Andy Roberts, Gordon Greenidge and Michael Holding (West Indies).

The highest number of crickets (22) are from England: Denis Compton, Frank Wolley, Brian Statham, Fred Trueman, Ian Botham, Herold Larwood, Graham Gooch, Geoffrey Boycott, WG Grace, Peter May, Len Hutton, Wilfred Rhodes, Walter Hammond, T Graveney, Sydney Barnes, Alec Bedser, Allen Knott, Colin Cowdrey, David Gower, Derek Underwood and Jim Laker.

The list includes two South African cricketers Barry Richards and Graeme Pollock while Richard Hadlee has been selected from New Zealand. The Hall of Famers list has no cricketer from Sri Lanka.

TIH Bureau

Popular stories

Contact us

For complaints and suggestions write to us at the email: theindianherald@gmail.com

Search our Archives

  © Blogger templates Newspaper by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP