The Indian Herald

The Indian Herald

March 2, 2009

EC announces General Election schedule

The general elections will be held in five phases but will be completed in a period of less than a month, starting from April 16 and ending on May 13.

The Election Commission of India today announced that the Lok Sabha polls would conducted in five phases. The voting dates are April 16, 22, 23, 30 and May 7 & 13. The counting of votes would be done on May 13.

The troubled Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) state will have a five phase election. Apart from Kashmir, India's most populous state Uttar Pradesh will also vote in as many phases, said Chief Election Commissioner N Gopalaswamy.

However, among other major states Bihar will have a four-phased poll while Maharashtra and West Bengal will vote in three phases. Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Orissa and Punjab will have election in two phases.

The rest of 15 states and seven centrally-administered (Union) territories will have polling completed in a day. Over 71 crore (710 million) electorate would vote for electing the government in the world's biggest democracy.

TIH Bureau

Popular stories

Contact us

For complaints and suggestions write to us at the email: theindianherald@gmail.com

Search our Archives

  © Blogger templates Newspaper by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP