The Indian Herald

The Indian Herald

May 17, 2009

Lok Sabha election 2009: Losers & winners

Prominent leaders like Ram Vilas Paswan, Renuka Chaudhary, Vinod Khanna, Vinay Katiyar and several other politicians suffered unexpected defeat in the general elections.

Paswan, a Dalit leader, who had been in the Parliament for 25 years, lost in his pocketborough Hajipur. His party Lok Janshakti was wiped out of the state and didn't win a single seat.

RJD's Lalu Yadav, who contesed from two seats, lost from Patliputra. He, however, will be seen in the Lok Sabha, as he won from Saran. Bollywood actor turn politician Vinod Khanna lost from Gurdaspur.

BJP's vice-president Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi lost the election from Rampur. His namesake Mukhtar Ansari of BSP was defeated in Varanasi. Senior leader Renukha Chaudhary lost from Khammam in Andhra Pradesh.

One of the firebrand leaders of Ram Mandir movement Vinay Katiyar suffered a humiliating defeat in Ambedkar Nagar. MDMK leader V Vaiko, BJP's Rajiv Prasad Rudy and Congress leader AR Antulay also lost the election.

Actress Jaya Prada won from Rampur while cricketer Azharuddin was elected from Moradabad. Asaduddin Owaisi won the AIMIM's traditional seat Hyderabad by defeating Zahid Ali Khan.

HD Devegowda, Shashi Tharoor, Shatrughan Sinha also managed to win their seats. Mani Shanker Aiyer lost the election but P Chidambaram was later declared a winner from Tamil Nadu.

TIH Bureau

Popular stories

Contact us

For complaints and suggestions write to us at the email: theindianherald@gmail.com

Search our Archives

  © Blogger templates Newspaper by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP